Partial completion – definition

Home Forums Data issues Partial completion – definition

This topic contains 12 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Jenny Johnson 1 month, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
  • Martin Locock
    Participant

I have an apprentice on a degree standard who has withdrawn after completing 70 credits at Level 4.

As I read the ILR spec, this counts as ‘no achievement’ at both programme and aim level since 70 credits is not enough to qualify for a lower award. (If they had completed 120 credit that would be enough for a CertHE and so would be counted as partial achievement for the learning aim but no achievement for the programme.)

Is that correct? (I have a vague memory of seeing something that implied that achieving *any* credits > partial, but I have been unable to find anything).

Martin West
    Participant

Code 2 ‘Partial achievement’ should only be used for prescribed HE learning aims where the learner has achieved an award that is at a lower academic level than the qualification they were aiming for as identified by the learning aim reference. For example, a learner who is aiming for an HND but leaves at the end of the first year with an HNC.

joannab
    Participant

It would depend if the student is being awarded anything. From 70 credits at level 4 they *could* have an award of “credits at level C”. But are you actually awarding them that?

Martin Locock
    Participant

Thanks both.

No, there’s no formal award.

I have however kept a record of the completed modules because if at some stage in the future they were to restart on this standard then the new provider would need to take account of progress made previously.

Lucy Linton
    Participant

Hello,

Can anyone advise if we can record learning aims as partial achievements if the learner has achieved some modules but not all. 16-19

Thank you

Martin West
    Participant

Hi Lucy,